Statement Bangle

Statement Bracelet

I saw a cool DIY jewelry piece on Glitter N Glue that I really liked. I added it to my ‘Blog Ideas’ notebook on Evernote.

I don’t know about you, but most times when I see a DIY anything, I wonder if I already have the supplies on hand. That usually determines the likelihood that I’ll make something. At the time I saw the post, I was at work and thought “cute, but I don’t see going to Claire’s any time soon to buy stuff.”

As is my weekly routine, I was cleaning the craft room and happened to come across a pair of earrings that belonged to my mom. I don’t have many of her things mostly because I took all her clothes and shoes to Goodwill when she died (I was an angry griever). My stepfather kept her jewelry box though and to this day, I’m glad he did. I never would have had her bridal set to wear or the earrings to make this bracelet. I already owned the bangle, but seeing that I’m not really a bangle woman, I rarely wear it. Let me rephrase that: my issues with white noise won’t allow me to wear them to work because I’ll drive myself crazy with the continuous clinking of bracelets on my desk.

So instead of bangle hell, I decided to give one of them a chance to live in the world of worn jewelry. In order to ‘set it and forget it’, I used both hot and super glue. If that doesn’t work, skip the hot glue step and apply the super glue.

Supplies

  • Bangle
  • Pair of earrings or decorative buttons
  • Hot glue gun and glue sticks
  • Super glue
  • Cutting tool
  • Pliers

Cut a small piece out of the bangle with the cutting tool. I used my heavy-duty jewelry pliers because that’s what I had on hand.

If you’re using earrings, use your cutting tool to remove the posts. Determine how you’re going to place them to the bracelet.

On the outermost edge (the edge where the earring and bangle meet), apply the super glue. Next to the super glue, apply a dot of hot glue. Immediately set the earring on the bracelet and hold until the hot glue cools. Repeat on the other side.

Bracelet 013

Try on the bracelet on. If necessary, carefully adjust the bangle to fit your wrist. Too much stress on the metal will make it break.

Statement Bracelet

3 thoughts on “Statement Bangle

  1. Pingback: Plethora of Necklaces | Honesty's Protégée

    • Thanks. It was meant to be! A day or so before I saw the post that inspired this project, I tried on those same earrings, but they just didn’t look the same on me as they did my mom.

Leave a Reply

