Lavender Body Powder

Lavender Body Powder

A few weeks ago, I made some cloths for freshening up after I’ve walked my daily set of stairs for exercise. I’m still using those cloths and love them for the purpose intended. Unfortunately, it does nothing for the post-refresh sweating that continues for an extra 15 minutes after said stair climbing. No matter what I try to do – walk around the lobby, walk outside, fan myself – nothing cools me down any faster. So I’m either forced to wait until I stop sweating or deplete the hand towels trying to wipe sweat off in the bathroom.

Either way, not a pretty sight or scent.

I decided I would try body powder. While I’m sure I liked Johnson & Johnson when I was a kid, I’m not a fan of smelling like babies at 37 (as if babies naturally smell like baby powder. I digress). I considered Gold Bond, but after, um, an incident, I decided I would research and make my own. What I didn’t want to do is go to the store at 8:45 p.m. and since all of the recipes called for arrowroot powder, I decided to research a little bit more. I came across a really good powder explanation that suggested I could use rice flour in place of arrowroot powder. I also still had lavender buds left from the lavender cooking that I wanted to use.

Break out the Ninja!

My friend gave me a bag of white rice after she decided to cut it from her diet. I’m not usually a white-rice kind of woman, so I put it in a cute jar on the counter and left the rest in the cabinet. Thankfully, it was just the amount I needed to make a test batch. I ground it until I couldn’t hear anything clinking around in the Ninja, and then pulverized the lavender buds. I was finally ready to put everything together.

The key to successful powder is sifting. Since I MAY use it in sensitive areas, I don’t want any scratchy particles irritating my skin. I sifted the powder three times before I felt comfortable using it. You won’t get all of the small particles (unless you take out the lavender buds), but it’s really close and non-irritating. And it smells fantastic.

Lavender Body Powder
adapted from Crunchy Better

  • 1 cup rice flour
  • ½ cup cornstarch
  • ¼ cup baking soda
  • 6 Tbsp very finely ground lavender buds
  • 70 drops lavender essential oil

Combine dry ingredients in a large bowl (not plastic) with a whisk.*

Add essential oil one drop at a time, whisking as you go.

Using another bowl, sift the powder through a fine-mesh sieve from one bowl to another two or three times, discarding small particles. Transfer powder into an airtight container and use as desired.

*This process can also be completed in the Ninja. I wouldn’t recommend blending in the oil with the Ninja since the bowl is made of plastic and the oil could seep into it.

Lavender Body Powder

One thought on “Lavender Body Powder

  1. Pingback: Body Powder Take 2 | Honesty's Protégée

Leave a Reply

