Broken Glass Art

Broken Glass Art

A few months back when I first made my sunburst mirror, I didn’t attach the mirror properly. What’s sad is I didn’t even know the mirror was no longer attached to the sunburst. The Hero noticed. Lo and behold, behind the loveseat was said mirror, broken into three pieces. Out of sheer anger, I left the pieces there and the sunburst mirror remained unfixed for a good two months. I finally brought the pieces up to the craft room and sat them on the ‘one day I’ll do something with this’ shelf.

About a month ago, I repurposed a painting I did for The Kid when he was about 12. At the time, I thought it was a great piece of art, but looking back, I realize that maybe, just maybe, he was too young to get the Sunflower poem and corresponding picture. And considering I’ve been moving it around with me for the last five years, I figured that was a pretty good sign that he didn’t really want it. I painted it with gesso and sat it against the ‘one day I’ll do something with this’ shelf.

A few weeks ago, I broke the glass from a 10 x 13 picture frame. I collected the two broken pieces and put them on top of the mirror pieces on the ‘one day I’ll do something with this’ shelf.

I happened to look at the ‘one day I’ll do something with this’ shelf and an idea for a broken glass art piece came to me. All it took was some paint, a glue gun, a hammer and a little creativity to create.

I highly suggest using gloves and protective eyewear for this project and clean up immediately. Trust me, there’s nothing fun about pulling glass splinters from your fingers and toes. Not that I know… I’m just saying….

Supplies

  • Canvas
  • Acrylic paint
  • Martha Stewart Frost Etching Effect medium
  • 1 mirror
  • 1 piece of glass
  • Hammer
  • Towel or pillow case (for breaking the glass)
  • Glue or glue gun

If using a new canvas, paint the canvas in the color of your choice. If repurposing a canvas, apply two coats of gesso and let dry. Then paint in the color of your choice.

Mix the frost medium and paint. Paint the glass. Set aside to dry.

Wrap the mirror in a towel or pillow case and break with the hammer. Place the mirror pieces on the canvas. Once arranged to your liking, secure with glue or a glue gun.

Once the glass is dry, wrap in the towel or pillow case and break with the hammer. Place the glass pieces in the gaps on the canvas. Once arranged to your liking, secure with glue or a glue gun.

Broken Glass Art

Leave a Reply

