Honey Almond Butter

Almond Butter

It happens more than I like. I run out of creamy peanut butter, but The Hero has a whole jar of crunchy peanut butter in the cabinet.

Crunchy. Peanut. Butter. I dislike it tremendously.

I don’t know when my dislike began. I will eat crunchy peanut butter if I’m dying of hunger, but I literally have to be on the verge of passing out. The only thing I dislike more than crunchy peanut butter is mayonnaise. I really hate mayonnaise. Actually, I dislike all condiments, except barbecue sauce, but that’s a post for another day. Yes, I’m quirky.

Anyway, as usual, my creamy peanut butter was gone and I really wanted a PB sandwich (nope, don’t like jam, jelly or preserves either). I was too lazy to go to the store so I decided to make almond butter. I have a fantastic food processor and had already researched how to make it, so I was already one step further from torturing myself with crunchy peanut butter.

Prep time is maybe a minute and a half which included me measuring everything. The time-consuming part is waiting for the almonds to turn into butter. It takes a long time… at least a good 10 to 15 minutes.

Toasting the almonds will probably make a really good butter, but as I was craving a nut butter sandwich ASAP, I skipped that step. Next time though, I will toast the almonds. I mean, if I have to wait 15 minutes for almond butter, I may as well make it the best almond butter possible, right?

Instead of using sugar to sweeten it, I opted for honey. Honey is on the condiment list, but it gets a pass in some cases, almond butter being one of them.

The end result was deliciousness. And I’m not sharing with The Hero until he denounces crunchy peanut butter.

Almond Butter

  • 1 cup almonds
  • 1 tbl oil (I used rice bran oil)
  • 2 tsp honey, or to taste

Place the almonds in a food processor and let it run. Once the butter looks like a ball of dough, add the oil and honey. Process again until smooth. Transfer to an air-tight container. Store in the refrigerator.

Almond Butter

Leave a Reply

