Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

This week has been one of those different weeks. I’ve run the gamut of emotions about business ventures and what I want to do with my life. Had some profound moments (like writing a book review for a friend who just released his first novel – read my review here) and realized that I don’t want to do anything full-time, but divide my time between a couple different things. And then there was the baking.

I’ve streamlined it to Sundays and Wednesdays with the Wednesday baking taking no more than two hours to complete. For a woman like me, that usually means making something quick. This week, I just ran out of quick ideas. Everything I wanted to make was more along the lines of a Sunday four-hour session than a Wednesday two-hour session.

So I went to my chief tester, The Hero. His first response was oatmeal raisin cookies. How could I forget the classics? Seriously?! I haven’t had a homemade oatmeal cookie in years. Sadly, the ‘raisin’ part had my face screwed up so I decided to split the batch: The Hero gets raisins and I get chocolate chips.

I don’t just trust any recipe when it comes to cookies. Betty Crocker rarely fails me, but Cook’s Illustrated and America’s Test Kitchen has NEVER fail me. I also love the notes provided with each recipe to understand the science behind the testing that doesn’t make me think ‘I wonder what would happen if I….’

The recipe is reprinted almost exactly as written by Cooks Illustrated. The only changes I made were substituting half of the butter for margarine, switching out the raisins for chocolate chips without omitting the nutmeg. Still fantastic. The next day, they were still like little pieces of paradise unfolding seductively all over my taste buds.

Make these. Today. Right now.

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies
adapted very slightly from Cooks Illustrated

  • 1½ cups unbleached all-purpose flour
  • ½ tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp grated nutmeg
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 8 tbl unsalted butter
  • 8 tbl margarine
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 3 cups rolled oats
  • ¼ cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Adjust the oven racks to the low and middle positions and heat the oven to 350 degrees. Line two large baking sheets with parchment paper or spray with nonstick cooking spray.

Whisk the flour, baking powder, nutmeg and salt together in a medium bowl.

Beat the butter and margarine on medium speed until creamy. Add the sugars; beat until fluffy, about 3 minutes. Beat in the eggs one at a time.

Stir the dry ingredients into the butter mixture with a wooden spoon. Stir in the oats and chocolate chips

Using about 2 tablespoons of dough, roll into 2” balls. Place the balls on the prepared baking sheets, about 2” apart.

Bake until the cookie edges turn golden brown, about 20 minutes, rotating the baking sheets front to back and top to bottom halfway through the baking time. Let the cookies cool on the baking sheet for 2 minutes. Transfer to a wire rack and cool for 30 minutes.

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

