DIY Wipecloths

DIY Wipecloths

I love my Fitbit One. It records the calories I’ve burned, steps I’ve walked (and what that translates to in floors), how long I sleep and my sleep quality. Since I got mine on February 8, I’ve been doing everything in my power to increase my activity level because I’m competitive and when faced with stats, I strive to beat whatever my best is at the moment.

One way I’ve been being more active is take the stairs at work. I don’t just mean the stairs to our office on the second floor. I mean all the stairs from the first floor to roof access (about 7¼ floors) during lunch time. At first I did it because I really wanted to see how fit I was. Suffice to say on the first day, I only went up one floor and almost died. But I persevered and after 10 grueling minutes I’d walked all 7¼ floors. Three weeks later, I can do three sets of the whole building in 12 minutes. Not too shabby.

With all of that great cardio comes sweat. And I don’t mean the sexy perspiration on a Sports Illustrated swimsuit model. I mean the I-was-doing-something-hard kind of sweat. While I can use a whole roll of paper towels to dry the sweat off my face and neck and feel okay, there are other parts that need some attention if you know what I mean. And baby wipes just don’t cut it.

Enter the DIY Wipecloths. I came across a post for baby wipes and thought why not modify it into something I can carry in my bag, does a good job cleaning AND can be easily wiped off without scarring all the other women on my floor by bird-bathing? After a quick test, these wipes are perfect for what I need. And I can use them when I find myself in a public bathroom with water for days, but not one drop of soap.

DIY Wipecloths

Supplies

  • 2¼ cups water
  • 1 tbl olive oil (or other oil of choice)
  • 2 tbl body wash (I used St. Ives Oatmeal and Shea Butter body wash)
  • Paper towels (select-a-size works best)
  • Scissors
  • Travel soap container or other small container

Instructions

Tear off approximately 20 paper towels and evenly stack. Cut the paper towels to the width of the container. Fold to fit in the travel container. You can fold them all in half or fold them singularly and stack them in a bowl with a lid. Set aside.

Disposable Wipecloths

Add the water, oil and body wash to a food processor (or mix in a bowl if you don’t have a food processor). Pulse until all the ingredients are thoroughly mixed. Pour just enough liquid to saturate the paper towels. Place the top on the bowl and shake to distribute any water pooling in the bottom of the bowl. Any additional mixture can be stored in an airtight container.

Disposable Wipecloths   Disposable Wipecloths

Fill the travel container with wipecloths. Decorate to add a little pizzazz and drop in your purse or bag.

Disposable Wipecloths    Disposable Wipecloths

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

