Lemon Lavender Shortbread

Lemon Lavender Shortbread 007Lemon Lavender ShortbreadI’ve been in a lavender mood lately. I resisted for a little while after buying lavender essential oil, but then I remembered a great cookie I had at my favorite tea salon, Zen Cha, and my quest for edible lavender flowers began. I didn’t have to go far. The North Market has a cool spice stand called Spices Ltd. that sold them.

I love Spices Ltd. They give customers the option to buy small size quantities. They even had edible lavender oil, but since my last experimentation with essential oils was not so pleasant, I decided to stick with the lavender buds.

Spices Ltd. lavender

With lavender buds purchased, I had to find a recipe that could be easily adapted. I found a recipe for rosemary lemon shortbread and after a few adaptations, came up with a recipe that I loved. Of course, I asked The Hero to taste it and all he could say was ‘it’s okay. It reminds me of eating a flower.’ When I explained where I’d initially had them he said he understood and thinks they would be perfect with a cup of tea. I preferred eating them in the bed on Saturday night watching Syfy.

Notes: I used a scale for this recipe because it’s quicker. I’ll try to recreate the recipe in cups as close cups as possible. For creating the log, I found using a paper towel roll created the perfect log.

Lemon Lavender Shortbread
adapted from My Baking Addiction

  • 1 stick (4 ounces) unsalted butter, softened
  • ½ cup (4 ounces) ripe avocado
  • ¾ cup (5¼ ounces) sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon lemon zest (from 1 lemon)
  • ½ teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • ½ teaspoon pure lemon extract
  • 1 egg
  • 1½ cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup ground oats
  • 1 Tablespoon dried edible lavender, crushed
  • ¾ teaspoon salt

In a medium bowl, add butter, avocado, sugar and lemon zest. Set aside.

In another bowl, whisk together flour, ground oats and lavender. Set aside. Prepare remaining ingredients.

Cream together butter, avocado, sugar and lemon zest. Add egg and mix until smooth. Add in extracts.

With the mixer on low, gradually add in the flour mixture. Mix until ingredients are combined and dough is stiff.

Cut two pieces of plastic wrap. Divide the dough between both pieces and form into a log by pulling the dough through an empty paper towel or toilet paper roll. Twist and tuck the ends into the tube and freeze for at least two hours.

Preheat oven to 375°. Line baking sheets with parchment paper or foil. Remove logs from the freezer and remove plastic wrap. Cut dough into ¼-inch slices and place on prepared baking sheet about ½ to 1 inch apart.

Bake cooking until just golden brown around the edges, about 10 to 12 minutes. Allow cookies to cool on wire rack. Store extras in an air-tight container up to four days.

One thought on “Lemon Lavender Shortbread

  1. Pingback: Lemon Bars | Honesty's Protégée

Leave a Reply

