Fruity Ice Cubes

Fruity Ice CubesThis weekend, I went through all binders: recipes, craft projects, DIY and miscellaneous. The goal was, if I haven’t made it or intend to make it in the next three months, it gets recycled. From the initial four 4-inch binders, I’m down to 2.

One binder in, I realized that I printed everything when I first started being all-around crafty. Every cupcake, dessert, side dish, repurpose and DIY project or inspiration picture I ever thought I would make made the grade. Some things gave me pause because they weren’t even projects I found interesting (at least looking at them from February 2013 eyes). When was I ever going to own a stone-washed denim jacket, let alone make it into a Fourth of July commemorative denim jacket? Really?

These ice cubes made the cut though. I’m a big proponent of drinking water, but water gets boring. Occasionally I enjoy a packet of Propel in my water, but I haven’t been a big fan of Crystal Light and the idea of squirting something into my water makes me gag. So when I came across a random picture of cute little ice cubes, I found a way to use up the last of the frozen blueberries. I love citrus flavors, especially lemon and lime, so it was a no-brainer to add lemon juice to the blueberries to make an awesome flavor combination. The pairings are endless though.

If you want bits of fruit to end up in your final beverage, use less lemon juice. If you want more juice, use more juice or fruit to reach your desired consistency. Do not use water in the ice cubes as it will dilute both the ice cubes and your beverage.

Fruity Ice Cubes

  • 2 ounces blueberries (I used frozen, but fresh will work too)
  • 2 ounce lemon juice or to taste and consistency

In a blender, puree the blueberries and lemon juice until combined and liquefied. Taste and add more blueberries or lemon juice as needed.

Pour mixture into ice cube trays. Freeze until hard and serve with your favorite beverage.

Fruity Ice Cubes

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

