Sweet Potato Pie Dip with Cinnamon Corn Tortillas

Sweet Potato Pie Dip

Chips and salsa have been ruling my food thoughts for the last 10 days. Every meal I’ve had, I think ‘how would this look as a spin on salsa and chips?’ When I say every meal, I was literally looking at my pancakes, hash browns and fruit cup and wondered how would I have to convert the pancakes to make them thin and crispy enough to scoop up the fruit. Yeah….

After days of speculation, I decided to experiment with a dessert. I still had a roasted sweet potato from one of The Hero’s frequently requested sweet potato pie baking sessions and thought it would be the easiest thing to prepare. We also had some corn tortillas left that I wanted to use up.

Modifying my go-to sweet potato pie filling recipe into a dip was easy enough. If you’ve ever had candied yams, this is what the dip will probably remind you of. 

Figuring out what to do with the tortillas was took the most thought though. Cut them into strips or triangles? Make scoops? Broil, bake or pan fry? In the end, I decided to cut the tortillas into strips and dredge some in butter and dust with cinnamon sugar and simply toss some in cinnamon sugar. The verdict? I liked the dredged ones better. You decide though on which way works best for you. I’m all for experimentation.

Sweet Potato Pie Dip with Cinnamon Corn Tortillas

For the Dip

  • 1 medium sweet potato
  • ½ cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 2 tbsp butter or margarine

For the Tortillas

  • 2 6-inch corn tortillas cut into 10 strips
  • melted butter or margarine
  • cinnamon sugar

1. Preheat oven to broil. Line a baking sheet with foil. Set aside.

2. In a small saucepan, mash the sweet potato with a hand mixer or potato masher until smooth.

3. Add the butter and sugar. Cook, stirring occasionally until the sugar and butter have melted. Turn to low to keep warm.

4. Cut the tortillas into desired shape. Either dip in melted butter or margarine and dust with cinnamon sugar or skip the butter step and dust with cinnamon sugar. Arrange on the prepared baking sheet.

5. Broil for about 15 seconds or until sugar starts to caramelize. Remove from the broiler and let sit for five minutes to harden.  Serve with the dip.

Sweet Potato Pie Dip

Leave a Reply

