DIY DeVa: Homemade Hand Soap

Handmade Soap

I love hand soap. What I don’t love is buying either two or three little bottles or one gallon-size jug of orange or creamy white goop to sit under my bathroom sink. So I decided to scour the Net for a recipe to make my own hand soap.

I found a number of results, some helpful, others not so much. In the end, I decided to use this one by Jillee. Since we typically use Dove soap, I figured it couldn’t hurt to give it a try with one bar of soap and see what happened. When I got to the store though, I decided to use Yardley English Lavendar soap because I liked the way it smelled and I could add a few drops of lavender in the final batch.

Supplies

  • 1 bar of Yardley soap
  • 2½ cups hot water
  • 20 drops of lavender oil

Instructions:

  1. In a medium saucepan, boil the water.
  2. While the water is heating up, grate the bar of soap. I used my food processor to make easy work of the job.
  3. Add the soap flakes and essential oil to the hot water and stir until all of the soap dissolves. Let cool for about two hours.
  4. After the mixture has cooled, check the consistency. Mine was exactly how I wanted it, but you may want to add a little more water. I highly suggest adding the water in small increments to avoid ruining the hand soap.
  5. Once it reaches desired consistency, add to your soap dispenser. I recycled a Jack Daniel’s bottle for the man cave bathroom. Store any additional soap in an airtight container.

This batch made enough to fill two soap containers.

6 Comments

    1. Thanks for stopping through! The consistency does get thicker the longer it sits, so I highly suggest letting it cool completely before filling a bottle. I didn’t let it cool long enough so it’s super thick, but still dispenses.

Leave a Reply

