Streusel Donuts

Streusel Donuts

Yes, I’m still loving the donut pan.

Unfortunately, I finally got on the scale and did the math. I’ve been on the scale without doing the math so I basically  convinced myself that things weren’t all that bad. But when I did the math…. 18 pounds in two years. That. Is. Not. Going. To. Work.

After a stern, but gentle conversation with myself, some things had to change. For one, I’m only baking twice a week: Sunday and Wednesday. That’s a big step considering I would bake every day sometimes (oh… and not share). So any given week, The Hero and I could conceivably consume seven full-sized desserts between us. We’ve both picked up the pounds.

I know for a fact that I will not be cutting out desserts so it would have been a waste of energy and brain power to say or think as much. What I can do is make healthy alterations to them without annihilating the taste integrity of the recipes.

I started with the mango kale donuts. I had one a day for breakfast for three days and took the rest to work on Friday. This morning, I woke up with a taste for something streusely. Besides my mini muffin pan, the donut pan holds the smallest amount of batter. And honestly, I just like the donut shape better.

The keys to this recipe are the toasted oats and low-fat vanilla yogurt. It’s okay if you don’t toast the oats before grinding them, but they do add a nice touch to the flavor. You can also use plain low-fat yogurt, but, again, the vanilla yogurt adds that extra flavor boost. Because the batter is thick, I put it into a piping bag and filled the donut wells and popper pan to save time and clean-up.

Streusel Donuts
adapted from Betty Crocker’s Cookbook

Makes about 12 donuts (197 calories each)

For the donuts

  • 1 cup flour
  • ½ cup toasted ground oats
  • ¾ tsp baking powder
  • ¾ tsp baking soda
  • ½ tsp salt
  • ½ cup sugar
  • ¼ cup brown sugar
  • 3 tbl butter or margarine (I used I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter)
  • ¾ tsp vanilla
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 cup low-fat vanilla yogurt

For the streusel topping

  • ¼ cup flour
  • ¼ cup brown sugar
  • ½ tsp cinnamon
  • 2 tbl butter or margarine

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Make the streusel topping; Fill each well with about 1 tablespoon of topping. Set aside.

Sift flour, ground oats, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a medium bowl; set aside.

In medium bowl, beat sugars, butter or margarine, vanilla and egg and egg white on medium speed until smooth, about two minutes. Reduce to low speed and add half of the flour mixture. Beat until combined. Add the yogurt and mix until combined. Add the remaining flour mixture. Mix just until combined.

Pipe batter in to the donut wells, filling to the top. Bake for 10 minutes or until the tops are light golden brown and a toothpick inserted into the donut comes out clean. Let cool for a few minutes and turn onto a wire rack.

Streusel Donuts

Leave a Reply

