Ginger Cake

The cake was gone before I could get a picture, but here are said almond cupcakes with lemon frosting in sugar cookie cups from 2012.
The cake was gone before I could get a picture, but here are said almond cupcakes with lemon frosting in sugar cookie cups from 2012.

For the past six days, I’ve been hanging out with The Kid. It’s interesting having a teenager around, this one in particular, for a number of reasons. First off, it helps me remember that I’m not cool by young standards, especially his. It also helps me remember that I’ve been on a similar journey to his and that with time, he’ll experience things and mature. And it helps me remember a younger version of myself when I was also a contrarian even when being a contrarian wasn’t in my best interest.

The Kid is King Contrarian. If I say that yellow is a bright and lovely color, he’ll argue that it is indeed NOT bright nor lovely and every time he sees yellow it depresses him. This spills over into our culinary experiences too. For his 16th birthday, I suggested some kind of regular cake, but he countered with almond cupcakes topped with lemon icing in sugar cookie cups. For Christmas this year, he requested a ginger cake. Not spice cake. Not gingerbread. Ginger cake. With lemonade icing.

After about 15 minutes of Googling ‘ginger cake no molasses’, I finally found a recipe that looked like it would meet The Kid’s standards. I made the executive decision that lemonade just wouldn’t work because I didn’t feel like going out to buy any and didn’t want to make some just for cake. Below is a the creation that The Kid said was “good, but doesn’t have the kick on the back end that I was expecting.” Kids.

Notes: You’ll want to prepare the milk an hour ahead of time to allow the spices to infuse properly. Click here for the recipe.

The original recipe called for a Bundt pan. I made half the recipe and baked it in a standard 6” round pan.

Ginger Cake
adapted from AllRecipes

1 cup butter
1¼ cup brown sugar
¼ cup granulated sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup spiced milk
2½ cups all-purpose flour
4 teaspoon baking powder
4 teaspoon ground ginger
1½ teaspoon cinnamon
½ teaspoon salt

Grease a two 6”round pans generously. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Sift together flour, baking powder, ginger, cinnamon and salt. Set aside.

In a large mixing bowl, cream the butter and sugars together until fluffy, about two minutes.

Add eggs one at a time, fully incorporating into butter mixture. Add vanilla.

Reduce the mixer to low and add about half of the flour mixture. After incorporated, add the spiced milk. Add the remaining flour and mix just until combined. Pour into the prepared pan.

Bake for 30 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Cool in the pan for 10 minutes. Remove from pan and cool on a wire rack.

Lemon Icing

1½ cups powdered sugar
¼ cup butter
1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
½ teaspoon pure lemon extract

In a medium bowl, cream powdered sugar and butter until fluffy. Add lemon juice and lemon extract.  Spread on cake once it is completely cooled.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

