Strawberry Lemon Muffins

I’m obsessed lately with baking donuts. I didn’t have this obsession until the holiday recipes started pouring in. The great food bloggers are thinking outside of the traditional cookie box and sending out all kinds of recipes. While I love all things sugary sweet, I’ve been fixated on these cake donuts.

All because I DON’T have a donut pan.

It’s kind of sad really why I don’t have a donut pan. When I’m casually perusing the baking aisles, I always think ‘eh… when am I going to bake a cake donut?’

And then, in one instant, after one recipe too many, I became infatuated with cake donuts. I wanted to make donuts out of everything.

Donut muffins.

Donut cupcakes.

Donut sandwiches.

Donut-stuffed chicken. Okay… maybe that’s a little too far, but you get the point.

I happened to come across this recipe for lemon blueberry donuts on Sparkpeople.com.

Lemon Blueberry Donuts
The inspiration for these muffins

Of course… I didn’t have blueberries, lemons or a donut pan, but I DID have strawberries, lemon extract, a muffin pan and a surprisingly thin little roll from the end of my foil. I figured the worst thing that could happen is I no longer like strawberry-lemonade-flavored foods anymore (and then I would cry in a corner).

I Googled ‘DIY donut pan’ and came across a bevy of options. Since I didn’t have foil (and didn’t want to make the three-minute walk to the store to get any), I was forced to soak my little foil roll in oil, spread the batter around it and hope for the best. Unfortunately, my little foil roll pieces were permanently imbedded in the donuts. And my donuts were more like muffins.

Not to worry. The muffins were soft, moist puffs of deliciousness. And they were only 95 calories each. Yes…. I know. You love me for this.

Strawberry Lemon Muffins
adapted from SparkPeople

Makes 10 regular-sized donuts

½ cup ground oats (2½ ounces)
½ cup all-purpose flour (2½ ounces)
⅓ cup brown sugar (2¾ ounces)
¾ teaspoon baking powder
¾ teaspoon baking soda
¼ teaspoon salt
1 egg
½ cup vanilla low-fat yogurt (4 ounces)
1 tablespoon canola oil
1 tablespoon lemon juice
¼ teaspoon lemon extract
½ cup frozen strawberries, chopped

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F. Spray a donut or muffin pan with nonstick cooking spray.

Combine all dry ingredients in a mixing bowl. Combine all wet ingredients except for strawberries into a separate mixing bowl. Stir the wet ingredients into the dry just until combined, then gently fold in the strawberries.

Fill cavities about half full of batter. Bake for 10 minutes or until golden brown.

Strawberry Lemon Muffins Nutrition

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

