Spice-Infused Oatmeal

The first recipe in months that I actually tore out of a magazine

Today ends my Thanksgiving vacation. Sigh. I’m  sad to see it end, but I’m glad to be at home alone all day. I miss my coworkers though so while I won’t be able to take a two-hour nap tomorrow afternoon, I’ll have someone to talk to to keep me awake.

What does work have to do with spiced milk? Everything. All of my coworkers know that I’m about making any and everything I can from scratch. I don’t brag about it, but it’s a known fact that I’m the first one to say “I wonder if I could make that at home”. They give me their magazines because something somewhere inside made them think of me. And of course I challenge myself to create said look or recipe.

A few weeks ago, my coworker gave me her Martha Stewart Living magazine. I’ve never been much of a Martha fan, but then I realized she’s a level above my ‘I’ll do it myself’ standard, thus someone I will be paying more attention to in the future. Inside were recipes for several different spiced milk recipes. Being a lover of all things edible, I thought ‘why not spiced oatmeal for a change?’ The result: Deliciousness.

Note: Make the milk the night before unless you’re one of those people who has an extra hour to spare in the morning.

 

Spice-Infused Oatmeal
adapted from Martha Stewart

  • 2 cups (16 oz.) vanilla almond milk
  • 1″ piece of ginger, peeled and thinly sliced
  • 6 whole cloves
  • 3 star anise
  • 2 cinnamon sticks
  • ½ cup oats
  • 1 tsp brown sugar

Heat milk and spices in a medium saucepan over medium heat, stirring once or twice, just until steaming. Cover pan and let spices steep in the milk for one hour. Strain and refrigerate.

Heat 1 cup of milk in a small saucepan until just boiling. Stir in oats and brown sugar. Cook until the oatmeal reaches desired consistency. Serve hot.

4 thoughts on “Spice-Infused Oatmeal

  1. Pingback: Gingerbread Cake | Honesty’s Protégée

  2. Pingback: Spiced Breakfast Quinoa | Honesty's Protégée

  3. Pingback: Spice Cake with Cream Cheese Glaze « Honesty's Protégée

  4. Pingback: Ginger Cake « Honesty's Protégée

Leave a Reply

