DIY DeVa: Hand Warmers

I saw this cute project on Pinterest. At first I thought ‘eh… no kids catching buses’, but then I realized I was the one catching the bus and maybe I would like for my hands to stay warm while I wait for the bus to and from work.

The project seemed simple enough. Since I tend to be cold a lot, I decided to make my own hand-sized pattern. The shapes and sizes are endless though, so feel free to experiment. Try making a pair for your boots, maybe even for your hat. And the beauty of it is you don’t need a sewing machine.

On to the hand warmers.

Supplies:

  • Scrap fabric
  • Sewing machine (optional)
  • Needle and thread
  • 1 cup of rice (depending on hand size)
  • Funnel

Trace an outline of your hand on a piece of paper. Cut out the palm section only, adding about ½” for seam allowance.

Trace the pattern four times – twice if you can fold your fabric in half – on your fabric and cut out.

Match two sections, right sides facing, and sew them together, leaving about 1“ open.

Fill the packets with rice. You don’t want it too full. I used about 2 ounces of rice in each one of mine. If you’re going to put them in your gloves, use about half the amount of rice or people will think you have extra thick palms. A funnel makes the job much easier. Trust me.

Sew the opening closed.

To heat: Place in the microwave for 30 seconds. Mine stayed warm about 40 minutes.

Enjoy your new hand warmers!

Leave a Reply

