Sweet Potato Pie Cobbler

The best dessert marriage to date
Don’t hate me for the picture. It was the last piece of cobbler before I realized that I just had to share with the world.

A vast majority of my time is spent thinking about food. When I’m not thinking about my new business venture or what I can DIY, I’m thinking about the next thing I’m going to bake. I have no shame about it either.

Thankfully, I married a man who has as much love for crust as I do. We are on the same crust wavelength. We don’t necessarily love pie for the filling, but put it in a good crust and it can transform an ordinary pie to extraordinary. So I’m sure you can imagine that cobbler is the crust dessert of choice. We also both share a love for sweet potato pie. It’s the Grand Poobah of pies in our house.

And then I had the greatest idea ever. Why not make a sweet potato pie cobbler? It was a genius idea. I didn’t tell The Hero about the cobbler until I figured out how I would need to modify the sweet potato pie recipe. When I finally figured it out and told him, his face was all screwed up.

“Um…. Sweet potato cobbler? Yeah… I’m going to have to see it before I say I’ll try it.”

Undeterred, I decided to go ahead and make it anyway. With just a slight modification to the pie recipe and adding cinnamon to the crust, I created a masterpiece! The Hero’s screwed up face turned into one of sweet potato pie pleasure.

Sweet Potato Pie Cobbler (makes 1 8″ x 8″ cobbler)

Crust:
(adapted from Epicurious.com)

  • 2½ cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • ¾ teaspoon salt
  • ½ teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) chilled unsalted butter, cut into pieces
  • 6-8 tablespoons ice water

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Mix flour, sugar, salt, and cinnamon in a bowl.

Add butter. Using a pastry blender mix in butter until it resembles coarse crumbs.

Gradually add enough ice water to form moist clumps. Turn dough onto a lightly floured surface and knead about five times. Roll out to ⅛” thickness. Cut a piece of crust to the size of your baking dish. Transfer the remaining crust to a baking pan. If the pieces are irregular, that’s fine, but if you’re a perfectionist, reroll the crust and form into as many dish-sized pieces as you can. Bake about 15 minutes or until the crust is lightly browned. Remove from oven and let cool.

Sweet Potato Pie Filling
(adapted from Paula Deen)

The secret to the pie is to bake the potatoes, not boil them. I typically bake them until the bottoms are deep brown, about 45 minutes in a 350-degree oven, depending on the size of the potatoes.

  • ¼ teaspoon ground ginger
  • ¼ teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • ¼ cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups peeled, baked sweet potatoes
  • 1¼ cups sugar
  • ½ stick melted butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

In a small bowl, combine the ginger, cinnamon, salt and flour. Set aside.

Combine sweet potatoes and sugar in a mixing bowl on medium speed. Add the melted butter. Add eggs one at a time, incorporating each one fully. Add milk and vanilla. Add in the flour mixture and beat just until combined.

Construction

Think of lasagna: alternate crust and about 1 ince of sweet potato pie filling, ending with crust .

Bake in the oven for 35 to 45 minutes or until the top crust is golden brown. Cool on a rack for 20 minutes.

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

