12 Years

It’s been 12 years since my mother died of colon cancer.

Twelve years. 

These 12 years have been quite an experience. It took nine to get over my anger. I’ve spent the last two finally getting used to the idea that The Girl will never know her grandmother and that The Kid won’t talk much about what he remembers or feels unless I drag it out of him.

I usually have a lot to say on this anniversary, but not so much this year. I wish The Hero had met her, but I’m sure I’ll have many more of these ‘I wish’ moments in the coming years. I understand that while I don’t physically have my mother, I have so many other people in my life that I am grateful for.  So today is a celebration of life, in honor of a wonderful mother who showed me how to see the silver lining even when it seems impossible. I’m making a list of all the great people I have in my life right now:

The Hero: goes without saying. I love that man. He supports me, listens (in his manly way) and loves me the best way he knows how.

The Kids: All I can say is that they both still love me and I’ve gotten over my issues of them growing up. And considering my parenting style, they seem to have turned out okay. Yay!

The Inner Circle: I have seven go-to people in my life right now that I trust no matter what. They never get sick of hearing my complaints when life sucks a little or compliments when things are going great.

The Friends: Always there with encouragement when I reach out to them (something I’ve only recently begun to do).

The Family: Out of sight, but never out of mind. Always there when I need to feel connected and loved.

3 Comments

    1. Thank you for reading and I’m sorry to read about your mom. Time made it easier to live with for me, but there were a lot of years I didn’t know how I would cope with the loss.

Leave a Reply

