Cinnamon Biskies

First off, applaud me for this creative photography considering the phone on my camera sucks. The idea to write this post literally popped in my head and after assessing what props I had available to me (and the crappiness of said camera phone), I think this is a pretty good do-it-right-now photo of my little creation.

Now the shame. I packed four of these little treats for breakfast and snacks in a mad rush to get out the door for work. I’ve already eaten three and am seriously considering annihilating the last one before lunch. But, I will have self-control and enjoy the cinnamon-oatmeal goodness at the end of the day. It will be the capping off of a great day.

What are they you ask? They’re biskies, a mix between biscuits and cookies. I wasn’t trying to create them though. I really was trying to make a healthier biscuit from my favorite Betty Crocker recipe and ended up inventing biskies. If you need a serving idea, try them with mint hot chocolate (another great-tasting accident).  I made about 18 from this recipe.

Cinnamon Biskies

1 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup ground oats (I used quick oats)
⅛ tsp cinnamon/nutmeg blend (I started pouring the cinnamon then added a dash of nutmeg)
1 tablespoon sugar
3 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
½ cup unsalted butter
3 oz. milk
3 oz. applesauce

  1. Heat oven to 450°F. Line cookie sheet with parchment paper or foil.
  2. In large bowl, mix flour, oats, sugar, baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg and salt. Cut in butter, using pastry blender (or pulling 2 table knives through ingredients in opposite directions), until mixture looks like fine crumbs. Stir in milk and applesauce until dough leaves side of bowl (dough will be soft and sticky).
  3. On lightly floured surface, gently roll dough in flour to coat. Knead lightly 10 times. Roll or pat to ½” thick. Cut with floured 2½” biscuit cutter. Place ungreased cookie sheet, place biscuits about 1 inch apart for crusty sides, touching for soft sides.
  4. Bake 10 to 12 minutes or until golden brown. Immediately remove from cookie sheet to wire rack. Serve warm or room temperature.

Nutrition Information
(Makes 18 biskies)

Calories: 96
Total Fat: 5.5 g
   Saturated Fat: 3.2 g
Cholesterol: 13.8 mg
Sodium: 214.6 mg
Potassium: 15.9 mg
Total Carbohydrates: 10.5 g
   Dieteary Fiber: .7 g
   Sugars: 1.9 g
Protein: 1.4 g
Vitamin A: 4.1%
Calcium: 6.2%
Iron: 4.8%

Leave a Reply

