White Chicken Chili

Sometimes I get in a rut when it comes to dinner. I realized – before we started dining out every other day on crap – that I’d been rotating the same meals without shame: chili, spaghetti and pizza. Interspersed with Wendy’s, McDonald’s and the local chicken joint, things were out of control dinnerwise.

I broke out my trusty Betty Crocker cookbook and decided to make soups. I vaguely remembered making white chicken chili before and The Hero liked it. However, instead of being subject to a Hero Inquisition, I decided to cook and THEN tell him what we were having.

Yes, I know… that was risky, but it worked. He put on his Mikey face when he looked in the pot, but the cardinal rule around here is try it before you declare it something you don’t like. Next thing I know, I’m literally hiding the last bowl to take to work for lunch.

White Chicken Chili
(adapted from Betty Crocker)

  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 3 cups chicken broth
  • 1 serrano pepper, seeded and chopped
  • 2 tblsp fresh cilantro
  • 3 tblsp lime juice
  • 6 oz. sweet corn
  • 1 can (14 oz.) Great Northern beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 can (14 oz.) butter beans, rinsed and drained
  • 2 cups cooked chicken cubed (I used the grocery store rotisserie chicken)
  • salt and pepper to taste

In a large pot or Dutch oven, cook onion and garlic in 1 tblsp of oil over medium heat, about five minutes.

Add additional ingredients, except chicken, and simmer for 15 minutes. Add chicken and simmer an additional 10 minutes.

Makes about 4-6 servings.

3 Comments

  1. I could live on good soup!
    One of my good friends has lost about 30 pounds because he modified his lunch meal to being soup. Actually his commitment was one meal that was soup a day. This usually means lunch but occaissionally it’s dinner.
    I’m looking forward to trying your recipe. :0
    Cheers,
    Laura

    1. Thanks for stopping by, Laura.

      Replacing a meal with soup sounds like a good idea.

      It can be personalized in so many ways. Next time I’m going to try southwestern corn and add more peppers. Let me know how it comes out.

Leave a Reply

