DIY DeVa: Shoe Redux

I’m on a shoe refashion kick. This is the third pair I’ve recreated. I figure if I’m going to spend good money on something, I shouldn’t let it just sit in my closet unused. On to the process.

What you’ll need:

  • shoes
  • acrylic paint
  • paintbrushes (width depending on the size of the surface you need to paint)
  • weatherproof sealant
  • scissors (large and small if you have them)
  • paint tape
  • stiff paper or poster board (if recovering shoes)
  • fabric (if recovering shoes)
  • glue gun and sticks (if recovering shoes)

1. Start by taping off the areas that will not be painted. You want to get as close to the edge as possible, especially if you are painting light shoes a dark color or vice versa.

Skip this step if you’re not covering part of the shoe with fabric.

2. Trace the part of the shoe you’re going to cover with fabric onto the paper or poster board. Make sure to include extra along the edge in case the pattern is a little off. Using the glue gun, affix the fabric on the shoe. Trim the edges close as possible. I used a ruffled pattern so neat edges weren’t necessary for me, but if you have a straight piece of fabric, I suggest cutting darts and gluing the fabric underneath if possible for a neat-looking edge.

3. Now painting. I couldn’t find an exact color match for my fabric so I had to create the color I needed for my shoes. If you need to do this, I highly suggest mixing more than you’ll need. It’s better to have too much than try to recreate the exact shade if you run out. Because the surface of my shoes was smooth and shiny, I used ultra fine sandpaper and lightly sanded them to help the paint adhere easily. Picking the right brush is trial and error. I found that the natural bristles were better for this surface, but for the other shoes I refashioned, the type of brush didn’t matter.

Make sure the paint is dry between layers. There’s nothing more frustrating than starting the next coat only to realized you’re pulling up the previous one. Yes, I know from experience. Patience is your friend. It took four coats for me  to fully cover yellow shoes with brown paint. I probably could have given it another coat to make extra sure, but Patience left.

4. Seal the shoes with a weatherproof varnish. You don’t want to skip this step. This will help protect your shoes. I’m not brand specific. I only very strongly recommend that somewhere on the bottle is the word ‘weatherproof’. I suggest letting your shoes dry for at least 24 before wearing them.

5. You’re done. At this point you can add any finishing decorations you want (beads, sequins, ribbon, etc). The original gold piping was enough for me. Rock your “new” shoes.

Leave a Reply

