Celebrating Life (The 2012 List)

I have a lot of good ideas, but very little ambition when it comes to implementation. I steadfastly believe that I was born to be a consultant, a profession that would allow me to work with clients in abstract ways for a pre-determined amount of time. Maybe that will make my list one year.

A couple of months ago I decided that I wanted to marry visual and written journaling. It would sort of be like a scrapbook. I’m trying hard to think of ways it wouldn’t be just because the word ‘scrapbook’ reminds me of the cheesy little books we had at the end of 6th grade that everyone signed as if we were graduating from high school and wouldn’t see each other in September. Random memory.

I needed some inspiration for visual journaling. I’ve never been a fan of resolutions (I call them NYLs) because they’re such a…. commitment. Or maybe it’s just that I always had NYLs that brought to light something less spectacular about some part of my being. Because of that, I haven’t made one in years.

I read a book though that made me reconsider the idea of an NYL. To make it personal, my year starts July 2. Without further ado, NYL 2012….

  1. Participate in a 5K race
  2. Buy a pair of colorful stilettos
  3. Try five new restaurants
  4. Read 24 books
  5. Write a poem
  6. Make an article of clothing
  7. Take themed photos once a month
  8. Write a short story
  9. Get my locs touched up by a professional
  10. Buy a piece of precious jewelry
  11. Buy a bike
  12. Call my dad and just let him talk one time without negative energy messing it up
  13. Cultivate or repair one relationship
  14. Compliment at least two random people every week
  15. Send 10 people a card or personal note
  16. Get a professional, hour-long massage
  17. Go zip lining at least once
  18. Go skating four times
  19. Go to the Fit Club boot camp class at least five times before October 1, 2012
  20. Have dessert three times a week
3 Comments

Leave a Reply

