Backstory Book Review: Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter by Seth Grahame-Smith

Believe it or not, there is no great backstory for this book. I’m waiting for The Lady to be fixed so I can start driving again, so I decided to stockpile books just in case there was an unexpected delay and I’d be in the house longer than I planned. I was on a roll trolling book clubs and the library’s site for suggestions when Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter by Seth Grahame-Smith came up. What’s funny is I realized there was a movie when I checked the book out. I don’t know why I decided to read it. Maybe because I’m trying genres I usually pass. Maybe it was just something different. Maybe I’m subconsciously doing research for the day I finally write a book. I didn’t really know what to expect when I got to this book. That’s not really true. I expected some kind of exaggerated fiction using Abraham Lincoln as a character. Sorta not the case.

 

 

 

 

Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter by Seth Grahame-Smith 

This book chronicles a secret set of journals Abraham Lincoln kept as a vampire hunter. They start with his life as a boy and how he came to be acquainted with vampires. When he discovers the impact vampire existence has on his life, he vows to kill every vampire he finds. Along the way, he befriends a vampire, Henry, who wants to vanquish the vampire population planning to enslave Americans. Along his journey, Lincoln meets other men who join him in vampire hunting and who, in some way, if for no other reason than keeping him alive, insures he makes it to the White House.

Surprisingly, I really liked the book. I read that it is historically accurate as far as dates and locations and the premise that the Civil War was really about enslaving humans as food was definitely a different twist. I had a little trouble with some of the vernacular, but then again I’ve never been a fan of the way people talked in days past. It’s like they used 20-dollar words all the time when they really could have used 1-dollar ones just as easily. Maybe that says something about society today. Hmm.

Something else I enjoyed was the book’s layout. I know. It’s a little of an odd quality for a review, but I’m about visual stimulation as well as the story. Different type when Grahame-Smith quoted from Lincoln’s journal made it really easy to decipher what was part of Lincoln’s writing and dialogue. There are photos and illustrations too that break up text. I love visuals and any time an author incorporates them into his or her work, I give automatic brownie points for the effort.

I suggest at least reading the first few chapters if this topic isn’t really your preference. If you find you can’t see yourself reading the rest of the book unless your life depended on it, then give it to someone else and go see the movie June 22. Maybe Tim Burton will convince you.

2 Comments

    1. From what I understand Tim Burton is co-producer with Timur Bekmambetov (who is also the director). It also appears that the author of the book also wrote the screenplay.

Leave a Reply

