DIY DeVa: Living Room, Part 1

I’ve been away too long. The good news is I’ve been productive and my new upcycling and recycling kick helped me get about half-finished with decorating the living room. Come along for the tour (and ignore cords and wires for now).

1. Sunburst mirror

This project was designed for a scientist. Seriously. I sat and made 98 paper reeds and arranged them on the back of a 10” mirror. Hot glued 53 of them on the mirror, lifted it up and… 17 bent like limp noodles. That was after I realized that the space on the wall was WAY smaller than my sunburst. So I ripped them all off (gently of course) and started with the straw. I had The Hero give me some pointers because I had literally been up all night working on it and took his suggestion to add some pops of color to break up the straw. Genius. Now the sofa looks a little happier.

2. Planters
I don’t kill plants, but like bad-boy boyfriends, they don’t stay around long. I decided to Google “low-maintenance houseplants” and kept coming up with succulents. I saw that they come in a variety of shapes, colors and sizes.

I was at Home Depot and figured I’d look in the gardening center and lo and behold, there was a cute little collection of mini plants. I found a cute variety that I thought would visually fit nicely in the living room. The next project was planters because who likes to keep the little plastic pots? After digging around in the recycling container for rectangular bottles, I found four that I liked and cleaned them out.


Old cranberry juice bottle bedazzled with leftover beads. It reminds me of my mother’s chest of drawers.


Made this one with dollar-spool yarn (Joann and their register impulse buys), an old necklace chain and wooden bead (another impulse buy three years ago). I semi-wrapped the bead with embroidery floss and attached a bead to make it cute.


Another old necklace around a Listerine bottle’s waist. I made all those beads by hand a few years ago for no reason other than to see if I could do it. I don’t own anything that color and I’m not a fashionista to pair it with some cool outfit. Now the plant has a necklace. Looks good on her.


Bright yellow + glittery gold ribbon = pretty. More beads I’ll never wear that look beautiful on the
planter. I just went with it. And the bottle was just the right size for the roots.

3. Roll art
       
I saw a tutorial for a toilet paper roll fence and thought it was brilliant. Time-consuming, but brilliant. My attention span is short, so I decided to make two complementary art pieces. The trays were salvaged from the K’s garage cleaning session and, of course, more beads I’ll never use. Are you noticing a theme yet? When I made these, the only other things in the living room that had these colors in it were a vase and a planter. I happened to like the mustard and turquoise and wanted to add some brightness to the earthy color palette in the room. What I didn’t know when I started these was I should have primed the trays with gesso. I’m positive the number of coats it took to achieve the same look would have been about two verses seven.

4. The Tree of Flexibility
 

This was a compromise. I didn’t like the picture on the other side of the canvas, but didn’t want to toss it and didn’t know about the whole gesso thing. I flipped it, tried the ombre technique and painted a tree on top. This was BEFORE I checked to see if these colors even match the palette (and they kinda don’t), so when I hung the picture, The Hero pointed out it was out-of-place. We agreed it would be a nice picture to hang at the bottom of the stairs. It’s a transition to the stairs and upstairs hallway (neither of which have received much attention). I actually like seeing it when I come down the stairs.

5. Key Table Tea Lights
     


This just kind of happened. We liked the idea of putting our keys in the little drawers to keep from putting more holes in the walls. I bought the tea lights on impulse at Family Dollar and painted the tops teal. They were originally on top of the table, but after falling five times in a less than a week, I figured it would be safer to put them on the bottom shelf and leave the top for something a little heavier.

What’s Next?

Phase II of living room design includes:

Coffee table: I want to make one from pallets or an old door, but The Hero isn’t too enthused about that. We need one though. Badly.

Sofa table: I just want one. It’ll be some place to put another lamp.

More lighting: We need to be able to light up the living room better. The outlets aren’t in ideal locations, so I’m thinking of hanging lamps, but we’ll see. Maybe two nice table lamps on the sofa table will help do the trick.

Rugs: I decided that I’m just going to have to buy plain ones and make what I want. I can’t find one with the right combination of colors or design for the walkway. Being a pretty creative chick, I think I can just do it myself. I see it perfectly in my head….

Pictures: Those paper reeds for the sunburst lamp are one idea. I also have another using binder clips and salvaged wine glasses from the thrift or dollar store. I’ll probably also use them for candles too.

My goal is to have all of this done before my birthday in July. I think at that pace I’m moving, it should be finished by then.

6 thoughts on “DIY DeVa: Living Room, Part 1

  1. Heya! I realize this is kind of off-topic but I had to ask.

    Does managing a well-established blog such as yours
    require a massive amount work? I am brand new to operating a
    blog however I do write in my journal on
    a daily basis. I’d like to start a blog so I will be able to share my experience and views online. Please let me know if you have any suggestions or tips for new aspiring bloggers. Appreciate it!

    • Apologies for the late response. It’s a lot easier if you plan the blog posts and schedule them so readers can anticipate when to expect posts. Once I started planning, it was a lot easier and I only had to do the work once a week.

  2. Howdy! Quick question that’s totally off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My website looks weird when browsing from my iphone4. I’m trying to find a theme or
    plugin that might be able to resolve this issue. If you have
    any suggestions, please share. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

