DIY DeVa: Living Room Art

Since moving, I’ve been a big fan of recycling and giving old things a new reason to exist. Add to that Pintrest is chock full of ideas and recycling saves money and I’m all in. When I came across this idea on Pintrest (Twig Art), I was super excited about turning trash into art at minimal cost. At our old place, the colors in the living room were the same and since I loved all the pieces we bought, I decided to stick with the same color scheme. I apologize in advance for not taking pictures of each step in the process: it’s my first time.

Supplies:

  • Old picture frame
  • Twigs, feathers or other decorative elements
  • Craft paint (I used acrylic)
  • Glue gun
  • Glue sticks
  • Mounting hardware (I used regular thumb tacks)

 Instructions:

  1. Disassemble the picture frame. Discard picture and glass cover or keep for another project. Clean the frame. Place the frame face down on your work surface.
  2. Arrange the elements in reverse. Remember, you’re going to flip the frame once you mount it on the wall.
  3. Decide which elements will be painted in your room’s color scheme and paint them. I remembered where my elements went, but if not, then simply mark where each piece should go when dry.
  4. After all of the painted pieces are dry (about 30 minutes depending on the number of coats applied), hot glue to the frame. Let the glue dry before lifting your new work of art. 

Fits nicely above the sofa.

Up close view

Leave a Reply

