Backstory Book Review: Everyone Worth Knowing by Lauren Weisberger

Trashy. Romance. Novels. Believe it or not, I read every Harlequin book I could get my little hands on between the ages of 10 and 13. These little gems formed my idea of what relationships should be, how a guy should fight for me and, of course, that upon meeting, we should have animosity that turns into a burning desire for each other that neither time nor space can separate. I grew into a blossoming young woman, expecting Tall D. Handsome to sweep me off my  feet, marry me and love me and the kids forever and ever.

Of course, life didn’t work out that way and all Harlequin fantasies have been slowly replaced by relationship reality. In reality, I would much rather not have confrontation and stalemates. I want everyone to be happy and laughing. I don’t need T.D. Handsome to indulge me with endless gifts, but to love me fully and know what I need without always asking me if I need it. And I sure as hell don’t want to devote excessive amounts of time to maintaining a young-woman body that two babies hijacked and countless cookies, cupcakes and plates of chili cheese fries have had affairs with. No… I think I’ll leave the Harlequin dreams to those who still think that’s what will make them happy.

But what does that have to do with Everyone Worth Knowing? If you must know without reading the book, Bette Robinson, the main character, has the same addiction to Harlequin romance novels as an adult that I once had as a kid. It’s actually what helped me finish the book.

Everyone Worth Knowing by Lauren Weisberger

Right to the point. The book is about Bette spontaneously quitting her job at a bank she hates only to be offered a job as a party planner with an exclusive public relations and event planning firm where she doesn’t fit in. During her stint with Kelly & Company, she faux dates NYC’s most wanted party boy, Phillip Weston, and falls victim to her nemesis’, Abby Abrams, gossip column. At the vortex of this whole experience are her deeply desired, but not-to-be-right-now encounters with Sammy, a guy she knows from her childhood and who is Mr. Perfect (according to her Harlequin romance standards).

This book was like reading a chick flick and I’ll be the first to admit that I’m not a big chick flick fan. The characters were rather shallow, but that makes sense considering the topic. I would have liked to know more about Bette or anyone else in the book for that matter, but it just wasn’t there. Everything, besides the hard-core partying and name dropping, was rather vague.

For anyone with a short attention span, but who hates the idea of going to the movies, I’d recommend this book. For everyone else, just go see a chick flick.

Leave a Reply

