Backstory Book Review: The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

ImageI love when books I’ve read are adapted into movies. On the other hand, I sometimes feel hoodwinked and led astray when I watch a movie and haven’t read the book first. I was determined not to allow that to happen with The Hunger Games. Oh… and the fact that it’s on the Happy Hour Book Club list of books for March. Or April.

I picked the book up from the library weeks ago when I my book reading was at an all-time high. At the time I reserved it, I was number 291 on the list. I was sure I wouldn’t get the book in time for the book club meeting in March. So you can imagine my surprise when I received the notification that it was ready for pick up. It sat in the pile of books for at least 10 days before I decided ‘eh… why not?’

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

Image

Yes, five stars! I loved the book. It started quickly without a lot of development, which held my attention right off the rip. The book starts with Katniss Everdeen and Peeta Mellark representing District 12 in the annual Hunger Games, a competition requiring 24 contestants, a boy and girl from each District, to fight to the death. The last remaining contestant lives in the lap of luxury for the rest of his or her life.

What I liked most about the book is that it was believable. The contestants ran the gamut from the brutal jerks who volunteer, yes volunteer, to participate in The Hunger Games to the innocent contestants. I picked sides based on Katniss’ narration. I could feel her emotions throughout the whole story and imagine how I would feel in the same circumstances.

At first, I was a little annoyed that more of Peeta’s thoughts weren’t revealed, but after a while, I realized the story wouldn’t be the same if I knew what both characters were thinking. Doing that would have made the story feel less authentic. And it was at this point that I thought ‘this is a five-star book’

I can’t wait to read Catching Fire and Mockingjay.

3 thoughts on “Backstory Book Review: The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

  1. Pingback: Backstory Book Reviews: Catching Fire and Mockingjay « Honesty's Protégée

  2. The Kyd and I read this after we saw the preview. We are reading the second book now. You have to read it next.

Leave a Reply

