Backstory Book Review: Bossypants by Tina Fey

I love my FUPA too!

As just about every adult does at the end of the year (yes, you!), I made some light resolutions. I decided to stick with some things I used to do, but for whatever reason, haven’t done in years and would have additional benefits like killing some other unpleasant habit.

Reading more books was a no-brainer. The benefits are far-stretching. Reading more would open me up to different styles of writing and genres and thus improve and increase my own writing (resolution). There are book clubs to join (resolution) where I would meet new people (resolution). I’d watch TV and play on the computer less (resolutions). Can you see all the things I can cross off my list?

In my usual way, I joined every book club in Greater Columbus. It took for me to realize that I had overbooked myself tremendously with those nine Meetup groups before I decided to stick with one. In the end, I chose The Happy Hour Book Club. It was like heaven: read more (resolution) and become a social alcoholic (resolution). Love it! 

So one of the books is Bossypants by Tina Fey. Do I love her? Can’t say. I knew she was on SNL, but that’s about it. And I’m never a fan of non-fiction books because, for the most part, they tend to be boring, depressing or depressingly boring. But… I’m going to be a good book club member and try to at least read the assigned books that correspond to the happy hour spots I want to visit (remember that resolution to be a social alcoholic). 

How’d it fare?

 

Bossypants by Tina Fey

The book was actually funny. It’s all over the place, which made it an interesting read. She writes about her success, but it’s not a ‘look how great I am’ approach. There were several times when I actually laughed out loud. The chapter about Don Fey was awesome. She made me feel fantastically average and love it. The weight stories, body issues and such were great and made me realize that I’m not the only one with road maps on my stomach from birthing kids and that the correct term for the fat on my thighs near my groin is ‘crotch biscuits’. And although I knew it, Photoshop makes everyone look great. So much so that some feminists won’t object to being touched up in those ‘problem’ areas.

It wasn’t a quick read though, which is why I can’t all out give it five stars. Toward the end there, I was falling asleep a lot (could be that I was reading right around bedtime, but thanks, Tina, for the distraction so that I fell asleep and stopped counting the holes in the ceiling or staring real hard to see if they were some kind of crunchy bugs waiting to crawl in my locs and make a home).

If you decide to read it and happen to be a bossypants, take heed to the management advice. Seriously. I would, without a doubt, work for her, exhaustion and all. So get the book. Now!

2 thoughts on “Backstory Book Review: Bossypants by Tina Fey

  1. Pingback: It’s the little things « Honesty's Protégée

Leave a Reply

