Backstory Book Review: The Dream Giver by Bruce Wilkinson

After reading Stieg Larsson’s Millenium Trilogy, I decided to go for a quick read. Upon the recommendation of two Facebook friends, I reserved The Dream Giver from the library. As part of my happier life quest, I decided to stop being the smartest person on the planet.

Lately, I’ve been secretly mourning and celebrating the fact that my own dream, The Cake Bar, had to be put on hold for a minute. Mourning because I had the momentum and the energy to buckle down and commit and celebrating because this down time was a necessary step in the launching process. During my WasteLand visit, I realized several issues that I wouldn’t have addressed if I wasn’t forced to re-evaluate my timeline. To read about that, check out my post. Ironically, I read this book in less than six hours after writing it. I love introspective books.    

The Dream Giver by Bruce Wilkinson As I wrote above, I love books on introspection and I especially love short books. I got both with The Dream Giver. The parable in the beginning was short enough to keep me interested and long enough to make me think. In the second part of the book, Wilkinson breaks down the parable in easy-to-apply principles for everyday life. Since I went in with an open mind, I found a lot of practical wisdom in the book that I could apply to my life.

The minor downside is the religious aspect of the book. References to the Bible were the crux of the support for his points. Don’t get me wrong; I’m not anti-Christian. I am for exploring other religions for beliefs that will help me live a happier life though. Buddhism, paganism, Judaism, Islam, Hinduism and a myriad of other religions all have some aspect that is relevant to living a fulfilling life.  So the traditional Christian perspective was the only reason I didn’t give the book five stars.

If you decide to read The Dream Giver, I suggest having a journal handy to write down your thoughts as you read. And don’t write your thoughts down and forget about them. The whole point of the book is to bring us closer to our Dreams and by forgetting to give energy to the changes needed to make your dreams come true, you’ll miss out on the long-term benefits of reading the book.

Leave a Reply

