Chicken Tortilla Soup – Junk Style

Some weeks ago, The Kid mentioned having Chicken Tortilla Soup and Max & Erma’s. I thoroughly enjoy M&E’s soup, but since I’ve started really cooking again, I figured someone out there would know how to make a good soup.

Lo and behold, I got an e-mail from Nikki at Chef in Training, with none other than (drum roll) Crockpot Chicken Tortilla Soup. I was so amped. I got the recipe, printed it off and proceeded to forget about it until yesterday.

As is my nature, I had all but a few ingredients and decided rather than fighting snow, to substitute. Here’s my adaptation of the original recipe.

Image

Chicken Tortilla Soup (adapted from Chef in Training)

4 chicken breasts

1 can black beans

1 can seasoned black beans

2 cans kidney beans

1 can corn

1 onion, diced

1 can fire-roasted tomatoes, Mexican style (or Rotel tomatoes)

2 cups salsa (I used a mixture of black bean/corn and medium salsa)

3 cups chicken broth, to desired consistency

2 packets taco seasoning, to taste

Tortilla chips (optional)

Reduced fat cheddar cheese (optional)

1. Boil chicken until cooked. Shred the chicken and set aside.

2. In a strainer, drain corn and beans (except seasoned black beans). Rinse thoroughly. Set aside.

3. In a Dutch oven, combine beans, corn, onion, chicken, tomatoes and salsa. Add broth to desired consistency. Mix in taco seasoning packets to taste.

4. Simmer for 10-15 minutes. Serve warm with tortilla chips and cheese, if desired.

Leave a Reply

