Backstory Book Review: The Millenium Trilogy by Steig Larsson

In my anxious quest to finish The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest, I intentionally missed spinning. I figured were about 75 pages left and I could, at my wonderful pace, finish them if I biked for 30 minutes.

Now typing that, I realize that I don’t read two-plus pages per minute. I’m more of a one-page-in-two-minutes reader. I don’t know if that means I’m a slow reader, but I do know that sometimes in my quest to get past the suspense, I’ll skim sections only to feel guilty about skipping the author’s words. When I finally write my own book, I’d hate for a reader to skim over something that I’m sure will have taken several rewrites, lots of anguish and plenty of cupcakes.

I cracked the book open and proceeded to put the bike on moderate resistance. Again, why cheat myself out of a workout just because I was buying time to finish the book before I got home and was bombarded by The Hero about dinner and his stubbed toe? It was me time.

Thirty minutes later, I was oh so close to being finished with the book (ha! It felt good typing that though). I had to make a decision: do I suck it up and try finishing it at home or cycle another 30 minutes? Granted I didn’t want to stay at the gym, but the thought of The Hero’s toe… dinner… the NBA Channel…. Easy decision: Gym.

 At this point, my body and I came to an agreement, so the workout is really just to shape the weight instead of letting it hang helplessly all over the place. Anyhow, I glance at the timer: 13:23 done. I checked the book: 47 pages. Ugh. I wouldn’t finish it in the second cycle either.

At the end of Cycle 2, I had to choose. I could start to feel the numbness in my butt, but the desire, the flat-out NEED to finish the book was overwhelming. I decided 15 minutes and I’d call it quits. Promise.

Twenty minutes later, when I couldn’t feel my butt and the numbness moved slowly down my thighs, I figured it was time to chalk it up. Lightly annoyed that I had 20 more pages to go, but couldn’t stick it out at the gym, I showered and headed home.

This post has a happy ending. I finished the book last night in just under half an hour. And I was able to ignore the NBA Channel. Go me. On to the review

 The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest by Stieg Larsson

I don’t love many books, especially ones with more than 300 pages, but I loved The Millenium Trilogy by Stieg LarssonThe Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, The Girl who Played with Fire and The Girl who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest. The first two books tend to put Salander’s issues as a secondary story instead of the main story. In the first two books, Mikael Blomkvist, a journalist, is the main character digging up information about various high-profile projects. Salander’s story runs parallel to Blomkvist’s adventures. The third book reverses the main characters though. Blomkvist is still involved in the action, but as a result of Salander’s history.

The characters are believable for the most part. There are, however, a lot of people introduced in the trilogy. Several have similar names, so I would recommend, if you’re an attentive and avid reader, to keep a list of names close so that you don’t confuse characters, especially in the Hornet’s Nest book. It would also be a good idea to look at a map to understand the distances characters travel if you’re not familiar with Sweden’s geography. I was lazy and didn’t do either which is why I give the book four stars.  

I would recommend these books to about anyone who loves to read and likes suspense/action books. Again with the suggestion of a map of Sweden and a list of characters.

3 thoughts on “Backstory Book Review: The Millenium Trilogy by Steig Larsson

  1. Pingback: Honesty's Protégée

  2. Nothing more enjoyable than the quest to finish a great book, only to be greeted by sadness when you’re finally done reading it, this sounds like a great trilogy so I may check it out, good review!

Leave a Reply

