16 Came and 16 Went

I spent the majority of my day baking, assembling and decorating cookie cupcakes for The Kid (that story and photo journal is over on The Cake Bar blog).

Unfortunately, my quest for cookie cupcakes and the longest wait ever at the doctor’s office put me way behind schedule. Dinner at Mongolian Barbecue and a midnight movie were moved to Saturday. Of course the snow and me procrastinating on buying tires also halted some activity.

Anyway, since I’m still super amped about TK turning 16, I wanted to make up for the day. I wanted to keep a photo journal of what we did today to celebrate.

8:41 p.m. TK arrives! I’m amped, but he’s subdued. I don’t know what I said to make him smile, but I got one. Woo hoo! We realized that we were hungry and discussed dinner options as it related to the distance we wanted to travel while remaining safe.

He's finally here... and still unfazed about his birthday

9:09 p.m. We brave the elements to go to Noodles and Co. to get him Bacon, Mac and Cheeseburger, me Japanese Pan Noodles and The Hero Tuscan Linguine. We all realized that we were staving and for 4.57 minutes, complete silence. Nothing , but the sounds of chewing.

10:44 p.m. Cake! Finally! All my hours of work finally to be enjoyed. Unfortunately, no one wanted cake, except me and TK. So we sat in the kitchen and I sang happy birthday to him while we ate almond/sugar cookie/lemon cupcakes.

'Mom... this is the greatest cake I've ever had.'

 

11:44 p.m. TK tells me he’s tired and is about to go lay down. I had to check my watch. I mean I was ready to stay up all night.

Night, TK.

Tomorrow we have big plans to go to the movies, see if we can talk bd Mongolian Barbecue into honoring the birthday coupon and maybe looking into purchasing more hoodies and pajama pants. Oh joy.

Leave a Reply

