A Story of Passion

I woke up one day and found you pulsing in my heart, beating fast, fueling the best in me to come forth. You provided an impetus for me to grow up, to grow out and also grow in. Until I saw you that day, I didn’t know who I was and why I was here.

You gave me hope for something better. You showed me that there is no such thing as a limit, be it love, money, relationships or support. Through you I was able to forgive myself and all the perceived wrongs I’d experienced at the hands of others. With you in my heart and mind, I came to realize that everything in my life starts and ends with my heart and mind. Thank you for coming and being patient while I tried to deny who I am, change who I am and run from it. Without you looking at me and me allowing myself to see you, I would never have been able to let go of my fear and reach that place where all things are still.

You are my race. My people of African descent, no matter the land of origin. You offer to civilization a love, warmth and beauty that the world would rather eradicate instead of embrace. We are more than the shades of our skin and what the ‘others’ say about us. It’s time for us to create our own legacies, tell our stories and flaunt our own beauty.

Leave a Reply

