Mid-decade update

Five years ago when I was about to turn 30, I wrote a master plan for the next decade of my life. Call it a compass or a getting down of things that needed to change and things that needed to stay the same. It was brilliant. At that time I decided that five years in, I would do an update on my progress and what needed to be tweaked for the last five years of the decade.

And then I lost the flash drive that held all my important documents. My electronic diary of five years, the master plan,the various versions of my resume, poems, book drafts, everything. So now the mid-decade review has to be done differently.

What’s in a master plan? Not what you’d think. It’s a place where I look at areas of my life as they currently are and where I want them to be. It has nothing to do with career, but more of a life compass, how to get from where I am now to where I want to be then mentally, spiritually and emotionally. Five years ago, I wanted to stop wasting my time on intimate relationships that weren’t going anywhere. I wanted to be a writer. And I wanted to be finally finished grieving my mother’s death. I’ve done all three of them: I have the Hero and we’re doing fine years later, there are a few articles on Examiner.com and a couple of other sites and I finally reached the acceptance stage in my grief as a motherless daughter.

I guess I wonder if I really even NEED the master plan. I mean, now that I’m here writing this post, I feel like I’m headed in the right direction. I’m breaking down my fear barriers a lot faster thanks to my Artist’s Way journey. I’ve even decided to have a showing some time at the end of July of the things I’ve already made, not focusing on if everyone will like it, but simply to show myself that I can do it and that more people than I think will like the things I make.

Now, I’m looking forward to my birthday in two weeks and the last five years of my 30s. Maybe I’ll finish learning how to swim this summer or maybe I’ll simply revel in being the awesome person that I am.

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

