Natural Intervention 101: What to Do When the Perm Box is Calling | Clutch Magazine: The Digital Magazine for the Young, Contemporary Woman of Color

Natural Intervention 101: What to Do When the Perm Box is Calling | Clutch Magazine: The Digital Magazine for the Young, Contemporary Woman of Color.

Keep your natural

This article in the latest issue of Clutch Magazine was exactly what I needed. I was just thinking that maybe I should look at texturizing my hair to release some of the curl in it. I’m tired of two-strand twists and, honestly, I really hate the idea of going to a salon. Really hate it.

But as a true friend, Clutch came with an article that really made me stop and think. I love my hair. I complain about it sometimes not doing what I want, but generally, I can’t complain about it. Although I haven’t had a relaxer in six years, I have let it grow out, get tired of the density of it and go back to a short faded style. And just like the author, Laquita Thomas-Banks, I’d regret the cut as soon as I paid the barber.

As  a relic to my relaxed days, I have just about every size roller and curling iron, blow dryer and hooded dryer for styling my hair. This article is a call to arms for me to not be lazy and blame my hair’s state on… my hair. In reality, it’s doing exactly what it should. I’m the one slacking on styling it to reflect how I feel or the image I want to project.

My natural hair expresses a sentiment that I didn’t realize until last week: imperfect perfection. It will never stay exactly as I style it in the morning. My twists are not measured and even spaced for uniformity. When I pick out my ‘fro, it tends to be a little lumpy every now and then. These things are what make me talk to my hair and gently urge it to keep growing, keep being healthy and thank it for representing who I am and part of a visual aspect of my varied ancestry.

So thank you, Ms. Banks for writing this piece. I can now put some of my creative energy to work crafting hair accessories and my newly created idle time to finding new styles to try at home. I don’t need to list to remind my that the curly mass on my head represents me spiritually and emotionally.

Leave a Reply

